The True Tunnel of Love

image

I’m sitting in a boat alone watching the wind whip the rain and waves into a ferocious tempest.

Around me the air is thick despite the wind.  I desperately try to breathe, but my gasps are met with resistance. The weight of emotion constricts my chest. My airway feels collapsed…useless…

But God…

I love that phrase, “But God…”

When it appears in the Bible things change, lives change, futures change. Probably my favorite passage where it appears is in Ephesians 2:4-5.  It seems that because God loves us so much that even though we are willful, stubborn people dead in our sins, He is rich in mercy toward us.  We were DEAD…corpses that stunk of every sort of idolatry and indulgence.  Yet He loved us enough to come to earth in  human form and subject Himself to torture and death on the cross. Because of that, the same power that rose Him from the dead, resides in us. We have that power available to us.

My little boat is safe in the tempest because I am not alone in my boat. The cacophonous tunnel I find myself in is not a place of destruction but a thoroughfare to God being glorified.

Now I can breath.

image

But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much, that even though we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead. It is only by God’s grace that you have been saved! Ephesians 2:4-5

Leave a Reply

